Kelela Announces Debut Album + Drops 'LMK' Video - Beat Magazine

Kelela Announces Debut Album + Drops ‘LMK’ Video

Kelela’s debut album Take Me Apart is finally set to drop on 6th October via Warp records. The album’s first cut is ‘LMK’ and it now comes with a video directed by Bj√∂rk collaborator Andrew Thomas Huan.

Reflecting on the video, Huang says, “We wanted make a video that showcases the multiplicity of who Kelela is and who she has the potential to be. The video is essentially a grand unveiling featuring Kelela wearing different wigs and guises as she pushes through the club with her friends, ultimately revealing herself at the end of the video. The message of this video is empowerment: it’s for the girls, for anyone whose heart has been trampled on and deserves to go out and feel good about themselves. It’s a call to action, demanding to be taken and to be quick about it. This is the reason why we love Kelela – she’s making herself vulnerable and kicking down doors in the process.”

Here’s a look at the Take Me Apart artwork and tracklisting:

1. Frontline
2. Waitin
3. Take Me Apart
4. Enough
5. Jupiter
6. Better
7. LMK
8. Truth Or Dare
9. S.O.S.
10. Blue Light
11. Onanon
12. Turn To Dust
13. Bluff
14. Altadena