Priests Get Gnarly Sharing Their 'Early Records' as Part of Their Record Store Day Release - Beat Magazine

Priests Get Gnarly Sharing Their ‘Early Records’ as Part of Their Record Store Day Release

Hot on the heels of the release of their debut album Nothing Feels Natural back in February, Priests are set to release their Early Recordings on Tough Love as part of this year’s Record Store Day. It’s gonna be a limited release with only 1000 copies pressed on to opaque white vinyl. Yum.

Early Recordings is a mash up of the bands first two cassette-only tape releases from back in 2011 and 2013. Tape 1 was recorded by guitarist GL Jaguar in his parent’s basement in Maryland. The band had only officially existed for a week, but the trio had already written four songs. “I was very eager to have evidence of the band exist for myself, because I didn’t know how long it would last, and I wanted to make music more than anything,” said Greer.

On Tape Two the band was eager to showcase their fuller sound as a newly expanded quartet with bassist Taylor Mulitz completing the line-up. The tape’s seven songs were recorded by Kevin Erickson and Hugh McElroy, who had already recorded the band’s first single “Radiation/Personal Planes” a year earlier and would go on to produced half of Priests’ Bodies and Control and Money and Power EP and all of Nothing Feels Natural.

“We didn’t want everybody to hear it,” said drummer Daniele Daniele of the Early Recordings release. “We were still learning our instruments, so these tapes were not intended to impress the world, just document where we were for our own sake.” Luckily the band changed their mind and instead of just selling the tapes at their live shows they’ve whacked it all on the internet.

Stream Early Recordings in full below!

Priests play these places on these dates:
Sun 21/05/2017 Leeds (UK), Brudenell Social Club
Mon 22/05/2017 Glasgow (UK), The Hug & Pint
Tue 23/05/2017 Manchester (UK), Gullivers
Wed 24/05/2017 Bristol (UK), The Louisiana
Thu 25/05/2017 London (UK), Oslo
Fri 26/05/2017 Brighton (UK), The Hope & Ruin
Sat 27/05/2017 Amsterdam (NL), London Calling
Sun 28/05/2017 Gent (BE), Trefpunt
Mon 29/05/2017 Liege (BE), La Zone
Tue 30/05/2017 Paris (FR), Espace B
Wed 31/05/2017 France South TBC (Lyon)
Fri 02/06/2017 Barcelona (ES) Primavera
Sat 03/06/2017 Barcelona (ES) Primavera
Mon 05/06/2017 Luxembourg (LU), Rotondes
Tue 06/06/2017 Esslingen (DE), Komma
Wed 07/06/2017 Darmstadt (DE), Oetinger Villa
Thu 08/06/2017 Hamburg (DE), Hafenklang
Fri 09/06/2017 Dresden (DE), Scheune
Sat 10/06/2017 Berlin (DE), Torstraßen Festival