Kevin Morby Announces 'City Music' Album and Shares First Taste 'Come To Me Now' - Beat Magazine

Kevin Morby Announces ‘City Music’ Album and Shares First Taste ‘Come To Me Now’

Kevin Morby has written a new album, it’s called City Music and it’s comin’ atcha through June 16th via Dead Oceans. The albums’ a counterpart to 2016’s Singing Saw that Morby describes as, “a mix-tape, a fever dream, a love letter dedicated to those cities that I cannot get rid of, to those cities that are all inside of me.”

‘Come To Me Now’ is the first offering from the album and features a pump organ (take a look at the lyric vid below), perhaps 2017 is the year of the pump organ, time will tell. Here’s some more word from the man himself about the track:

The organ you’re hearing on this song is an old pump organ from the 1800s, I wish I could remember the brand – but I don’t. This was my favorite part of recording this album, playing this thing and pumping air into it with the foot pedals, it had such a presence from the moment I entered the studio. For the first few days I think I thought it was just there for looks, that there was no way it still worked, but sure enough it did. Above it hung a framed photo of the original owner of the studios property who died sometime ago. Apparently his ghost still occupies the premises.

The City Music tracklisting looks like this:
1. Come To Me Now
2. Crybaby
3. 1234
4. Aboard My Train
5. Dry Your Eyes
6. Flannery
7. City Music
8. Tin Can
9. Caught In My Eye
10. Night Time
11. Pearly Gates
12. Downtown’s Lights

Kevin Morby plays these places on these dates:
Wed. March 22 – Cincinnati OH @ The Woodward Theater
Th. March 23 – Pittsburgh PA @ Carnegie Lecture Hall of Oakland
Fri. March 24 – Toronto ON @ Longboat Hall
Sat. March 25 – Montréal QC @ Théâtre Plaza
Sun. March 26 – Burlington VT @ ArtsRiot
Tue. March 28 – Portland ME @ Port City Music Hall
Wed. March 29 – Hamden CT @ The Ballroom at The Outer Space
Thu. March 30 – Jersey City NJ @ Monty Hall
Fri. March 31 – Jersey City NJ @ Monty Hall
Sat. April 1 – Carlisle PA @ The Trellis at Dickinson College
Sun. April 2 – Baltimore MD @ Creative Alliance
Tue. May 23 – Washington DC @ Rock and Roll Hotel
Wed. May 24 – New York NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Fri. May 26 – Philadelphia PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Sat. May 27 – Allston MA @ Boston Calling
Thu. June 1 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Sat. June 3 – London, UK @ Field Day
Sun. June 4 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Thu. June 8 – Sun. June 11 – Manchester TN @ Bonnaroo
Fri. June 23 – Sun. June 25 – North Adams MA @ Solid Sound Festival
Tue. June 27 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Wed. June 28 – Roskilde, DK @ Roskilde Festival
Thurs. June 28: Nochtspeicher – Hamburg (D)
Sun. July 2 – Berlin, DE @ Quasimodo
Mon. July 3 – Frankfurt, DE @ Zoom
Wed. July 5 – Düdingen, CH @ Bad Bonn
Fri. July 7 – Soliera/Modena, IT @ Artivive
Sun. July 9 – Brugge, BE @ Cactusfestival
Tue. July 11 – Paris, FR @ Le Trabendo
Thu. July 13 – Lisbon, PT @ Super Bock Super Rock
Sat. July 15 – Dour, BE @ Dour Festival
Sun. July 16 – Southwold, UK @ Latitude
Fri. July 28 – Newport RI @ Newport Folk Festival